Sunday Brunch Day (My newfound love)

3 Mar

Sundays are now officially my favorite day of the week.

I feel like most people don’t like Sundays. They’re like pre-Mondays, right? I used to feel that way. I used to just feel the time crunch bearing down on me…”Monday is coming! Are you ready for 5 strait days of work?” (that was Sunday talking to me.)

But now, it’s my favorite. I work Mon-Sat right now, so Sundays are my only days completely “off” work. They’re lazy. They’re fun. I usually do really mundane things, but it’s entirely enjoyable.

And recently, I’ve been really in to making us a delicious breakfast in the mornings. Our weekday breakfasts are usually just yogurt or a granola bar ( boring) and Sundays give me those extra hours to create something really delicious, most often involving bacon.
DSC04131

DSC04133

This Sunday I pulled out all the stops. My dear friend Becky joined us for brunch and we had a very lovely time! Brent whipped us up some breakfast cocktails and I made tiny baby donuts. They are an almond donut with a cherry glaze, although the glaze definitely left something to be desired (very powdered-sugary) so I will be tweaking that one. but they’re so adorable.

DSC04134

 

DSC04139

I also made an amazing Middle Eastern egg dish called shashuka, which is eggs poached in a spicy tomato sauce eaten with pita. I forgot to take pictures because I was too hungry. I’m making that again for sure. I followed Deb’s take on this dish over at Smitten Kitchen, so head over there for that recipe.

Anyways, my point is that I wish every day could be like Sundays. Just taking my time in the morning, enjoying my coffee and whipping up a super tasty breakfast for people. I’ll be waiting all week for this Sunday morning – I’m thinking some breakfast tostadas are in order!

Leave a Reply

