How Does That Make You Feel? (Let me help you)

23 Jan

I’ve been feeling like a therapist lately.

Recently, I’ve been helping Brent out with a lot of school stuff (grad school is hard), and counseling friends on big life changes and relationship stuff. Sometimes it’s overwhelming, because I tend to take on people’s problems until I think I’ve come up with a good solution. It’s tough, but I do love it.

This isn’t really anything new for me. I’ve always been that person people gravitate to when they have a problem. I’ve been told I’m very empathetic, but being totally empathetic and absorbing other people’s problems can really wear you down. So I think as I’ve gotten older, I’m a bit quicker to tell people how I see it rather than giving a sugar-coated, tell-them-what-they-want-to-hear answer. I’ve also started to only give people advice when they ask for it, which tends to work out a lot better for everyone.

I even thought about going back to school to become a licensed therapist because I do really like trying to help people, trying to figure out why they’re having a problem or what makes them do the things they do or feel the things they’re feeling.  but I don’t think I’m up for years and years more of school. 

This is all coming from reading one of my favorite advice givers. He writes from within a girl-oriented site, and girls come to him for his manly perspective on relationship stuff. It’s awesome. He’s pretty brutal, but almost always poignant and spot-on with his advice – like a real life he’s just not that into you situation. His best post yet is this opinion-stlye piece based on the book “Never Have I Ever: My Life (so far) Without A Date”, a strange memoir from a well meaning twenty-something chronicling her life without a relationship – in painstaking, excruciating detail. Seriously, this chick goes through every guy she’s ever liked (going back to kindergarten), why she liked him, what went wrong, and everything. It’s so crazy. The Head Pro’s advice is priceless – please read the exerps from the book and his response. It’s just advice gold.

 This is the part of the post where I beg for your help. I’d LOVE to start a advicey-type column thing on this blog. Maybe once a week I’d try to answer a couple questions for people, focusing on relationships. Not just romantic relationships, but even friendships and family things, too. And nothing is too far out there. It can be as silly as trying to decipher a confusing text or serious problem that needs a serious answer

 

Please send in your questions, or pass the offer of advice on to anyone you’d think would be interested. I’m serious about this, friendly readers! send them in an email (jenny.gagas@gmail.com)

Leave a Reply

