Why December is the Best (an explanation from an expert)

3 Dec

If you know me even a little bit, you know I love December. This is going to be a very non-serious post trying to explain my fanaticism over this 12th month.

I love Christmas. I love snow. I love having frozen cheeks and frozen boogers (yeah, it happens okay?) and that silence that only comes during a snowfall.
Let me tell you why.

1) My birthday! My birthday is the first day of the best month of the year. When you get older, birthdays get boring and less-special, since everyone is pretty much living their lives and no one is making a big to-do for you. But this year, I did feel pretty special. My #1 fan Brent spent – literally- about seven hours in our kitchen making me a beautiful cake. This wasn’t a box mix and a can of frosting, people. He made me a cake the way I would make me a cake, albeit with a bit more mess.

he's working that mixer like a pro

he’s working that mixer like a pro

I wasn’t allowed to help, and while that was pretty nice, I couldn’t help but peek. He didn’t want me in the kitchen at all because he knew I’d take over. I have kitchen control issues. I did get to teach him how to separate egg yolks from egg whites, but then I got immediately kicked out.
Look. at. this. cake.
IMG_1018

IMG_1022

Note the gorgeous, even layers. I’m going to go ahead and say Brent is a much more precise, perfectionist baker than I am and really takes his time to do it right. it makes me happy. This cake rocked my mouth.

I got showered in love on my birthday – my parents happened to be in town, too, so I got to have a birthday brunch (birthday donut and champagne included) along with many gifts and wishes. It was lovely and I did feel special turning 24.

2) I love SNOW. snow snow snow. It usually snows on my birthday. Even when I lived in central Illinois, the sky always squeezed out a few flurries. The last few years haven’t been so lucky, but no bother. I live in Wisconsin…in a month I will be up to my knees in the stuff. I’ve always loved the snow, though. I just love how pretty and pure it makes everything look. I love how you can look out your window and be cozy with the snow outside. I love the sound it makes. I like how it smells. I like how it really makes Christmas more Christmassy. (Can you tell I grew up in the Midwest?)
IMG_1035 DSC03850

3) The Christmas Season
I have garnered this really strange reputation of being the “girl who loves christmas.” I didn’t like…try to be that person. I just really do love it. Apparently word spread, because last year at the cafe I work at, one of my co-workers was like “Oh, yeah, you’re the one who loves Christmas, right?” (um…duh?) “Can I ask why you love it?” I literally didn’t know what to say. I just do. They thought there was some profound reason, or we have some really unique traditions or something. Nope. Not really. But basically, here’s why. I love that everything shines a bit brighter. Cities decorate their streets. Stores put up lights and tinsel. People are more generous and conscious of kindness. I get to buy the people I love things just because I love them. I get to see my giant family that I really only get to see on holidays. We do the same things every year that make them special because we ONLY do them once a year, like walking across the frozen lake, baking an obscene amount of cookies, decorating the house with sparkly, glittery things, eating the same foods and having the same conversations. Blasting Bing Crosby all month. Seeing people’s faces when they open gifts. I’m getting excited just talking about it. Now that I’m married, I have a whole new family to share it with, and start new traditions within my own little family. To me, Christmas is about love. Sharing love, spreading love, feeling love, and remembering that we are loved. Also, Jesus and his love. Love, people, it’s all love. Keep that in mind when you start to wonder what a freak like me sees in this month.
IMG_1034 IMG_1036

Look at my face. That is exactly how I feel inside!

Alright, that was a long ramble. Enjoy this season. It only comes once a year and goes by way too fast. Also, I hope you’re ready for more posts from me, because I have a lot planned! Have a good first week of December!

4 Responses to “Why December is the Best (an explanation from an expert)”

  1. Nina December 4, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    I love everything you wrote Jenny! Like you, I am a huge Christmas fan and love snow! (That is I love snow until January 1st – then I want it all to go away). I love reading anything you write. Merry Christmas! – Nina

    • jenny@relishandreverie December 4, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

      Thanks Nina! I, too, am totally over the snow thing once the Christmas magic is gone 🙂

  2. dharmamonet December 4, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

    I am feeling so excited for the winter myself, I love all the flavors and how everything is richer and more indulgent. I’ll be totally, I have converted from coffee to mochas for the season, at least up til Christmas, just because that is how it makes me feel, and it’s awesome. Love you, expect packages shortly

Leave a Reply

