Childhood Favorites: Peanut butter and apples

15 Oct

We still have too many apples.

DSC03740

But, that’s really okay with me. It’s an easy, healthy snack, but maybe I’ve had enough apple treats. I might post one or two more (like that promised apple crisp recipe!) but, this might be the last for a week or two.

Lately, I’ve been indulging in one of my absolute all time favorite snacks: apple slices and peanut butter. Even for a light lunch, this combo is perfect. You get a serving of fruit, a little healthy fat, and some protein in a delicious bite. I could eat this every day.

DSC03772

Even Rocky wants an apple snack

The other day it occurred to me that I’ve never once in my whole 23 years had a peanut butter apple dessert. Why has this tragedy befallen me?! It’s one of those quintessential flavor combinations, and it’s so obvious.

So, I searched high and low (or, a pinterest search) for a recipe that looked right. All I could find was recipes with caramel. Not that there’s anything wrong with apples and caramel, but it’s a bit overplayed, isn’t it? The recipe I based my bars on is full of way too many flavors (peanut butter, white chocolate, and caramel) that I cut it way back, scaling it to fit my needs.

DSC03768

The results are just magical. My lovely Holly said, “This is the best thing I’ve ever eaten. I’m being serious.” Although, we tend to wax hyperbolic, but the sentiment remains: these babies are for real. I love that it this is a very simple and straitforward recipe, full of nostalgia. And sugar.

DSC03794

And even better, you probably have all the ingredients on had (minus the cinnamon chips!) and they’re so easy to throw together. Try not to just eat the whole bowl of batter with a spoon: eggless recipes are dangerous for that reason!

DSC03793

 

Peanut Butter Apple Bars (inspired by this recipe from Averie Cooks) 

  • ½ cup applesauce
  • ½  to ¾ cup peanut butter
  • ¼ cup butter, softened
  • 2 cup oats (old fashioned, preferably, otherwise they’ll get too mushy)
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 – 1/2 cup apples, diced & peeled
  • 3/4 to 1 cup cinnamon chips

Directions: Set oven at 350 degrees. Combine applesauce, peanut butter, and butter in a large mixing bowl and stir to combine them, heating up the peanut butter slightly if you keep yours in the fridge. Stir in vanilla and sugar until well combined, and then fold in the oats and cinnamon chips. Fold in apples.  Spread into a foil or parchment lined and sprayed 8 x 8 or 9 x 9 pan.  Bake for 30 minutes. They will be bubbly upon taking out of oven, but will continue to bake up as they cool.

Allow bars to to cool very well before slicing, as they are super gooey.  Put them in the freezer for about 20 minutes if you’re impatient like me. Store in the fridge so they stay nice and firm.

Notes:

I used cinnamon chips because it sounded fun and a great accompaniment to the flavors here. If you like, you can use any flavor chip, adding in sprinkle of cinnamon if you desire.

3 Responses to “Childhood Favorites: Peanut butter and apples”

  1. Averie @ Averie Cooks October 15, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    Thanks for linking up!

  2. Charisma October 16, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    Oooh love these! They looks so satisfyingly sticky!

    • jennygagas October 16, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve gotten several exclamations that they are “the best thing I’ve ever made” so I encourage you to try them out 🙂

Leave a Reply

