Apple traditions with a twist

10 Oct

Like I said in my earlier post, this week is apple week. However, I forgot I came home with roughly 25 pounds of apples. So…in reality, it’s apple month.
DSC03747

Apple season always meant apple crisp in my house growing up. My mom, bless her, doesn’t bake really at all, but she makes the absolute best apple crisp. Ironically, it’s made in the microwave. I know, this sounds like the worst. But it isn’t.

Somehow this magical apple crisp became a birthday tradition for me. My birthday is in December, and my mom asked if I wanted a cake but I asked for the crisp. I think we had some sort thing on my birthday that wouldn’t let us have a traditional birthday dinner, so I got apple crisp breakfast. I gotta tell you, that’s the breakfast of champions. I miss those!

I didn’t make apple crisp yet, though. (Don’t worry, I will!) I did, though, come up with a new crisp concoction that combines the best part of apple crisp – the sugary, crunchy, buttery topping- and the sweet bite of an apple cake. As much as I love the simplicity of apple crisp, I wanted to see where else crisp could go. I took a variation of my favorite blondie recipe and tweaked it, making an apple blondie base with this incredible topping. The blondie is really more cakey. This could be solved by omitting the baking powder, which I’ll try next time.

DSC03743 DSC03746

It’s all very exciting.

You can throw this together super fast if you have a nifty apple peeler-corer-slicer combo, and you can pick one of those up for about $20. It’s definitely worth it if you have pounds upon pounds of apples lying around. I have a wine box full of apples right now.

DSC03767

And please, have some of this for breakfast. It’s bound to make your morning a bit better!

Apple Crisp Blondies

For Blondies:

  • ½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ cup chopped pecans
  • 2 medium apples, cored, peeled, diced
  • ½ cup chopped pecans
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

For Crisp Topping

  • ½ cup brown sugar packed
  • ½ cup oats (old fashioned or quick)
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon (or pumpkin pie spice)
  • 3 tbsp butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350, prepare a 9×9 greased baking pan (I used a 9 inch ceramic tart pan, and it worked wonderfully). Place parchment in bottom for easier release.

Prepare blondie batter:

In a medium bowl, wisk brown sugar and melted butter together until well blended (a minute or so). Wisk in the egg until well combined. Fold in the chopped apples and pecans. In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon together, and then slowly stir in to your apple mixture; the batter will be very thick.

Prepare Crisp:

Wisk brown sugar, oats, flour, and cinnamon together until well combine. Add in melted butter and wisk until mixture forms small clumps. Sprinkle mixture evenly on top of blondie batter, pressing down very lightly to adhere crumbs.

Bake for 42-45 minutes, letting blondies cool for at least 30 minutes before cutting. I cut mine into wedges, since I used a tart pan. Store these in the fridge – they’re good cold or warmed up.

Leave a Reply

