A day in the life of a 20-something, stay-at-home writer.

16 Sep

I get some strange looks when people find out I work from home. There’s various reactions, and usually people think it’s pretty cool, and that I’m “lucky” to not have a boss over my shoulder or that I get to avoid the morning commute.

And, they’re totally right.

I wake up at my leisure. People think that means I get up whenever I want. However…I still have to work 40 hours a week. I try to get up around 7 and get started around 7:30. Why? Because, I want to be done working by 5, at the latest. Just like a normal person. I have free food and coffee all day, and I can go work out whenever I want. That being said, getting up early helps me keep my schedule flexible ; impromptu yoga class and lunch dates with friends included.

 

My boss and I have a super chill relationship. He gives me a lot of free reign and trusts me a lot – he has to, I guess! We email daily, and occasionally have a phone call for particularly complicated conversations, but otherwise it’s pretty low-key.

I have a low – stress job. So low, in fact, that today I was just wearing a robe for a few hours. I’m now rocking my signature yoga pants, a sweatshirt, and a scarf. Oh, and i don’t have to put on makeup – so I don’t more days than I do.

This is my sweet set up. it almost always includes a cat and a cool podcast.

This is my sweet set up. it almost always includes a cat and a cool podcast.

I just took a nap.

But okay before you get jealous…think about this. I do not talk to a single person all day. I don’t even see a single person all day. And sure, I could go to a coffee shop, but I have a sweet desk, sweet computer, and a really, really comfy chair. Its hard to leave this set up. I get really antsy and restless and often feel isolated. I got some cats now, and they’re actually pretty decent company. My husband is still a student, so he works at home a lot, which is fun – no, really, we have a good time working our office, listening to music and chatting now-and-then. But, having coworkers is such a fun, community experience. I loved having coworkers at every job I’ve had, and I so miss that.

So, I decided I wanted to plunge back into the barista pool. One day a week. Makin’ my lattes and talking to cool people. I went to my shop the other day and saw a regular, and he was so happy to see me. It totally made my day and I cannot wait to get back into customer service. Weird, huh?

Me and two great coworkers (and friends!) out for a night.

Me and two great coworkers (and friends!) out for a night.

That’s what your 20s are about though, right? You do the things that make you happy. Really, though, that’s just what life is about. I’m trying to do things I want to do, and not focus on what I “should” be doing. I want to do a lot of things with my life.

One Response to “A day in the life of a 20-something, stay-at-home writer.”

  1. dharmamonet September 20, 2013 at 3:46 am #

    This is exactly where I was last year when I quit my job at the cafe to write full time at home, and then I realized, I needed to be immersed in society to be able to feel inspired and energized throughout the day, so I jumped back in too. It’s so amazing to have a job that attracts cool people, both as coworkers and customers, and it relies on maintaining a state of cooool. I think we have the best of all worlds, life is all about doing so many things!

Leave a Reply

